Previous | Index | Next

Columbia Press

Top News

County organizes housing panel

Friday, August 10, 2018

Clatsop County and its cities have formed a partnership aimed at finding solutions to the region’s housing crisis.

The Comprehensive Housing Study will profile and analyze the countywide housing supply, examine housing and demographic trends and develop projections, review existing plans and data and evaluate housing goals, policies and codes.

The completed study will include proposals for initiatives that may encourage more production of needed housing types as well as recommendations on building partnerships and capacity-building strategies.

Portland consulting firm Johnson Economics is leading the project, with assistance from a 20-member advisory panel that includes representatives from Clatsop County, the cities and the building industry.

The goal of the study is to help policymakers and officials understand the type, size, location and price of housing needed to meet current and future needs, as well as market forces, regulations and barriers that impact development.

The study – funded with $50,000 from the county and $10,000 each from the cities of Astoria, Cannon Beach, Gearhart, Seaside and Warrenton – is slated for completion in November.

The project will include opportunities for public involvement, including an open house and an online survey. Meetings of the technical advisory committee will also be open to the public.

Technical Advisory Committee members are Chairman Henry Balensifer, Warrenton mayor;

Vice Chairman Brandon Ogilvie, Cannon Beach councilman;

Cameron Moore, Clatsop County manager;

Gail Henrikson, Clatsop County’s community development director;

Brett Estes, Astoria city manager;

Mark Barnes, Cannon Beach planning director;

Seth Morrisey, Seaside councilman;

Matt Brown, Gearhart mayor;

Russ Taggart, Gearhart planning commissioner;

Kevin Leahy, Clatsop Economic Development Resources director;

Todd Johnston, Northwest Oregon Housing Authority;

Elaine Bruce, Clatsop Community Action;

Patrick Wingard, Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development;

Builder/developers Gil Gramson, Richard Krueger, Donny Lee, Cary Johnson, Jason Palmberg, Herb Florer and Dan Jessie.

Previous | Index | Next